Nature Fix

With the most amazing, summer-like weather, I was craving camping all weekend. Unfortunately, with teaching a Zumba class (me), dance performance (my son), and marking Grade 12 math papers (my husband), we just couldn’t go. So today, as we were visiting our older son at the University of Waterloo, we decided to check out the nearby Laurel Creek Conservation Area. It is part of the Grand River Conservation Authority and is promoted as nature next door for a very good reason – Laurel Creek is within a biking and even walking distance for Waterloo residents yet doesn’t feel like it is located in the city. We had a picnic on the beach enjoying the most delicious spinach pie and nectarine crisp. Our younger son was even brave enough to take a dip in the lake. We then explored some of the park’s trails looking for signs of fall.

I think I got my nature fix until our Thanksgiving weekend camping trip.

Laurel Creek Conservation Area

purple flowers   yellow leaves

birdsflying over water

walking through the fall forest    walking through the woods

yellow goldfinch female   female yellow goldfinch

One thought on “Nature Fix

Leave a comment